16 Apr 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“One must eat to live and not live to eat.”
—Molière: 17th century French playwright and actor

*******Although this is tough to chew and swallow,-:)- I recognize the validity of this statement.  Right before starting the Master Cleanse diet, I began reading a book on the Macrobiotic diet.  The things I read were astounding.  I soon realized the reason for our ill health–improper diet.  We live in a technological age and there have been many changes to the way food has been produced and processed over the years.  The only thing good about processed foods is the way it tastes and makes you feel while you’re eating it, but have you noticed the sluggish feeling in the hours that follow after consuming these products?  I don’t know about you, but I feel terrible and all I want to do is sleep or vegetate on a couch! 😉  I’ve noticed while on this Master Cleanse I have an abundance of energy AND I actually don’t have a problem falling to sleep or waking up.  I also don’t care for alcohol much anymore, nor do I have the tolerance I used to.  No, I’m not supposed to have alcohol on this diet, but I drank because I went out and they kind of go hand in hand for me.  Boy, did I regret that the next day!  Okay…I digress.  Just imagine the people in third world countries having the luxuries we have.  They’d be just as fat and sick as we are here in America.  Yes, they are sick, but that’s because of malnutrition not bad nutrition.  They live to eat and don’t know the meaning of gluttony like we do.  We (not referring to the vegans and vegetarians out there) live to eat.  From Hungry Man frozen dinners to “super size it”, it’s just all too much.  Our bodies actually only need whole grains, vegetables and fruit (occasionally) to sustain life.  I admit it, I am a foodie, but I’ve made some changes.  Soy milk and cheese and veggie burgers taste wonderful.  I grew up on that stuff anyway and rebelled to my detriment when I left home.  Now, I know I must eat to live, not live to eat.  Guess mom was right after all!*******

WORD OF THE DAY

MAXIM

(noun)
[MAK-sim]

1. a succinct or pithy saying that reflects a general rule or truth: “Kyle always wanted to be the exception to the ‘nice guys finish last’ maxim.”


Origin:
Approximately 1430; from Middle English, ‘maxime’: proverb, adage; from Middle French, ‘maxime’; from Late Latin, ‘maxima,’ from ‘maxima propositio’: fundamental axiom, literally, greatest premise; feminine of Latin ‘maximus’: greatest.

*******I don’t like the maxim “nice guys finish last”.  That’s not true at all in my world.  I’ve had my fair share of “Mr. Fabulous'” and I have built up quite an immunity towards them.  That’s not to say I totally ignore them, I just don’t get all caught up in their patina anymore.  I like nice guys.  Sure, they can be a tad boring at times, but I’d rather boredom than tears.  I’m not stereotyping, I’m just going off of pure experiences.  The more swagger they have, the more interesting they become.  The more interesting they become, the more interesting they know they are.  Do you get the pattern here?  I sure do.  I’m hip.  I know which ones to send packing in 4 seconds flat.  It’s usually not the nice ones.  Comprende?

