24 Apr 2008 


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Render more service than that for which you are paid and you will soon be paid for more than you render.  The law of “Increasing Returns” takes care of this.”  -Napolean Hill

*******This is exactly what I do at work.  I don’t make much, but I do A LOT.  In fact, I do more than any other employee on this account.  That’s exactly why I’m so exhausted today and hurting all over.  That’s the way I was trained in the military.  If your leader tells you to do something, you do it without complaints and you go above and beyond the call of duty whenever you can.  Now, my boss wants to promote me to supervisor because of my work ethic.  Sounds good to me!  Rendering more service than what your paid for always works out in the long run.  It may not seem like it while you’re going through the motions, but there’s always someone watching.*******

WORD OF THE DAY

QUIBBLE

(intransitive verb, noun)
[KWIB-ahl]

intransitive verb

1. to evade the truth of a point or question by raising irrelevant objections

2. to argue over petty things; cavil: “Let’s not quibble over pennies.”

noun

3. an evasion of the point of an argument by raising irrelevant distinctions or objections

additional noun form: quibbler


Origin:
Approximately 1611; probably diminutive of obsolete English, ‘quib’: evasion of a point, equivocation; borrowed from Latin, ‘quibus’: by what (things), used often in legal documents and thus associated with dubious legal proceedings, dative and ablative plural of ‘quid’: what, neuter of ‘quis’: who.

*******A friend from work told me about how her boyfriend took her car and didn’t pick her up from work, so she had to walk home at 10 p.m.  She was on the phone when he finally came home around 1 a.m.  and she continued talking to her sister, but happily waved at him and smiled.  He just sat on the bed and stared at her for 10 minutes and stormed out of the house.  He returned home around 3 a.m. and started to quibble about her respecting him enough to get off the phone when he walks in the house and began to bring up the past.  He went on for nearly 2 hrs!  Clearly, that was all to cover up for the fact that he was M.I.A. for most of the night and didn’t pick her up from work.  The nerve!  I don’t know how people stay in relationships like that.  Yours truly does NOT tolerate an ounce of disrespect.  Why do you think I’m single?  Because I’m schmaart! ;)******* 

Enjoy the rest of your day everyone!!!

Smooches!

