25 Apr 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Every failure is a blessing in disguise, providing it teaches some needed lesson one could not have learned without it.  Most so-called “failures” are only temporary defeats.”

*******I have been fortunate enough to recognize the lesson in every one of my failures.  Oftentimes the failures have been hard to accept until the reason it all happens comes to me in an epiphany.  Oh, the “aha moment” is always a shocking revelation.  This past February, my 1st husband remarried and it hurt a bit.  Sure, I left him and it was absolutely necessary for self-preservation,  but it still hurt.  For the past 4 years, I’ve wondered why the divorce had to happen and I finally figured it out a week ago.  We were never supposed to go the distance.  Never.  We were put together to learn lessons.  We are the people we are today because we taught eachother how to become who we are.  Where he was the the emotionally abusive father I never had, he has now transformed into the much nicer, more considerate and easygoing man he is now.  Where I was the little naive girl that walked on eggshells, was wholly dependent and lived to please my man (no matter how great the feat was) and never myself, I am now strong, independent and have come to realize my self-worth.  I know my 1st marriage wasn’t a failure by definition.  It really was a blessing in disguise.  Now, we are both better people.  I’m NOT endorsing marriage for self-realization purposes.  That’s just my story.  I am merely advocating accepting your temporary defeats as such, figuring out the reason for the occurrence and learning from it so you succeed the next time.*******

WORD OF THE DAY

CAPRICE

(noun)
[kah-PREES]

1. a sudden unexpected change of mind: “We worked for weeks to script the negotiations, only to have our CEO veer off on a caprice.”

2. a tendency to change one’s mind impulsively

3. a sudden impulsive idea, change of mind, or action; whim

4. (as in music) a capriccio


Origin:
Approximately 1667; borrowed from French, ‘caprice’: whim; from Italian, ‘capriccio’: whim, literally, head with hair standing on end (from ‘capo’: head, from Latin ‘caput’: head + ‘riccio’: curly, frizzled, as in frizzled hair, hedgehog, from Latin ‘ericius’: hedgehog).

*******I am famous for going off on a whim.  It’s fun…for ME at least…NOT for strict schedulers though.  I love spontaneity.  I don’t have this problem when it comes to business, but my personal life is entirely different.  I was hanging out with a friend of mine last weekend and he wanted to discuss the agenda the day before, so I rattled off everything I wanted to do.  Then he picked us up and we started going through the day and he ended up coming along with the boys and me to my son’s baseball tryout and expressed disappointment when it interfered with something he said he was thinking of doing.  He thought I was disregarding what he wanted to do.  I didn’t ask him to come and miss his event.  That was HIS choice.  He also didn’t like the fact that we didn’t sit down and plan a schedule and I had decided against doing one of the things I had set out to do.  Who cares?  It’s Sunday, let’s just do whatever we can cram in the day!  Geez!  Live and let live my dear man!  It’s not okay to constantly veer off on a caprice when scheduling your work day, but Sunday?  Settle down dude…it’s the weekend for pete’s sake!*******

Have a great day with smiles on your faces, love in your hearts and accomplishing all of your goals on your minds!

Smooches!   

 

