6 May 2008-Motivational Quote/Word of the Day


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“If you cannot do great things yourself, remember that you may do small things in a great way.”

*******No one ever said you had to be the next great so-and-so.  If that is what you choose…go for it!  If not, don’t beat yourself up about not being great.  Doing small things with ultimate gusto is good enough.  Not satisfied with good enough?  Then, be great!  I basically just repeated myself, but sometimes that’s necessary.  Everyone doesn’t comprehend written words in the same manner.  Sometimes, you have to flip it before they get it.  I just want people to understand their self-worth is not defined by mastering great feats in life.  Life is a great enough feat.  If you make it through without taking yourself out of the game early, you’ve done something great.  Having your name up in lights is not the be-all and end-all.  It’s the people behind the scenes that really keep the show going.  Remember the writer’s strike?*******

 

WORD OF THE DAY

ABOMINATION

(noun)
[ah-bom’-ah-NAY-shahn]

1. hate coupled with disgust; abhorrence; loathing

2. an action that arouses disgust or abhorrence: “His treatment of the children is an abomination.”

3. a person who is loathsome or disgusting


Origin:
Approximately 1350; from Old French, ‘abomination’; from Latin, ‘abominationem’, from ‘abominari’: to deplore as an evil omen (‘ab-‘: off, away from + ‘ominari’: prophesy, from ‘omin-,’ stem of ‘omen’).

*******To me, negative people are an abomination.  Sounds harsh, but there’s no way to take the wind out of my sails faster, than to say something negative.  What gives someone the right to constantly burst others bubbles?  I realize, bringing others down, makes the weak feel stronger and gives those with low self-esteem a little boost, but it’s only a temporary hold-over.  After they get their boost, they’ll be sitting in the corner with a harumph face, once the euphoria from their dream-crushing victory wears off.  I’ll have you know…I’m not having it.  As soon as I hear something negative, you won’t like me because I’ll unleash the beast.  I work really hard on staying positive, so it’d be wise to button your lips around me if you plan on spewing negativity in my vicinity.  I can’t go for that…no, no…no can do!*******  😉

