14 May 2008-Motivational Quote/Word of the Day


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“The important thing is not being afraid to take a chance.
Remember, the greatest failure is to not try. Once you
find something you love to do, be the best at doing it.”

— Debbi Fields: Founder of Mrs. Fields Cookies and author

*******What do you love to do?  Are you doing it?  If not, why not?  More than likely, it is because of fear.  When I was in the 12th grade, I sang in a trio.  One day, we were all walking and singing–and I cracked.  It was so loud, it could’ve shattered eardrums.  Still, I didn’t think anyone would mention it.  Then, my best friend started dying laughing and said, “Oh my God, you just cracked…that sounded horrible!”.  But, she wasn’t talking to me…she was talking to our other friend, who vehemently denied cracking.  I said nothing and just giggled.  I thought to myself, “I never want to do that again because I’ll be laughed at.”.  So, over the years, I’ve done everything in my power to keep from cracking.  I only sang in alto keys and I avoided singing when put on the spot because nervousness makes the voice crack.  Soon, I developed such a complex, I only sang when I was alone, for people I was REALLY comfortable with and to large crowds in dark rooms.  I had MAJOR stage fright.  After reading, meditating and doing affirmations, I discovered I have nothing to fear.  Why fear a God-given talent?  What am I gaining by keeping it to myself when I know it makes people happy when I share it?  What are you afraid to share?  Why are you so afraid to share it?  I can guarantee you it’s all in your head and that’s the first place to start to eliminate that fear.  You do yourself more harm than good by being fearful to share your talents or to do what you truly love.  Once you discover the root cause of your fear and find some self-help tools to eradicate it, you’ll be able to correct it so you can take on the world.*******

 

WORD OF THE DAY

JEREMIAD

(noun)
[jer’-ah-MIE-ahd]

1. a long and mournful complaint; “Jack launches into a jeremiad against our administration at every opportunity.”


Origin:
Approximately 1775; from French, ‘jeremiade,’ from ‘Jeremie’: Jeremiah, author of The Lamentations; from Late Latin, ‘Ieremias.’

*******I don’t mind having a long conversation, but when it’s time for me to go home at the end of my workday, I’d prefer it if the conversation is kept short.  Especially if it’s Mother’s Day.  Lord in heaven knows I don’t want to be there in the first place, but why my co-worker never seems to get the inching-towards-the-door hint, is beyond me.  Why I let the man spout off a jeremiad about the company for 40 minutes, is also beyond me.  Don’t get me wrong, I did my fair share of jeremiading, but I KNEW when to stop!  And that was 30 minutes prior to the time I was actually able to get away from him.  Trust me, I tried many times by saying it was Mother’s Day and I had to go pick up my kids, but these words fell upon deaf ears.  He followed me the entire 25 ft to the door, was still talking as I had 1 foot in the door and kept talking as I ran in the rain to my car.  His complaints were indeed valid, but I was clearly trying to get away!  This is just a lesson in communication my people.  When you see someone is trying to get away from your conversational death grip, let them go.  Please.*******

 

