Motivational Quote/Word/Videos of the Day-28 July 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Creativity is the willingness to think in unhabitual ways.”  -William James, pioneering American psychologist and philosopher

MANAGING YOUR CREATIVITY- http://potentmind.com/  *******This video has some great tips on how to bring about inspiration and manage your creativity.  I’ve been meaning to create a montage of the people and things that inspire me and I think it’s high time I get ‘er done already.  🙂 *******

WORD OF THE DAY

XANADU

• \ZAN-uh-doo\ noun

: an idyllic, exotic, or luxurious place

Example Sentence:

To Arthur, the beach house was a Xanadu, the perfect spot for the romantic tropical vacation he had dreamed of for years.

Did you know?

“In Xanadu did Kubla Khan / A stately pleasure-dome decree.” Those lines are from the poem “Kubla Khan” (published in 1816) by Samuel Taylor Coleridge. Coleridge’s fantastic description of an exotic utopia fired public imagination and ultimately contributed to the transition of “Xanadu” from a name to a generalized term for an idyllic place. The Xanadu in the poem was inspired by Shang-tu, the summer residence of Mongolian general and statesman Kublai Khan (grandson of Genghis Khan). You might also recognize “Xanadu” as the name of the fantastic estate in Orson Welles’s 1941 film Citizen Kane.

“XANADU” MOVIE TRAILER-OLIVIA NEWTON-JOHN AND MICHAEL BECK  *******I remember being absolutely OBSESSED with this movie when I was a young whipper snapper.  I would conjure up fantasies of magically coming through a wall (I thought that’s what happened!) and roller skating while singing with my hair blowing in the breeze.   Then, I’d find the man of my dreams and we’d live happily ever after!  A bit far-fetched one may say, but it’s just a fantasy!  Minus the wall part (no, I’m not crazy) I haven’t given up hope of that fantasy becoming a reality.  Cheesy much?  You bet your sweet goodness it is!  😉 ******* 

