Motivational Quote/Word/Videos of the Day-12 Aug 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“…you can either stand still or do your part and help someone who is suffering.”                  -Amber Valletta, model/actress

HOMELESS-ELLIOTT HOUSTON-PARADISE-BRANDY AND RAY J  *******Well, I think I’ve cried enough today.  I’ve been homeless with my mother and sisters as a child and I’ve been nearly homeless twice in the 5 years I’ve lived here in Michigan.  What saved me was a few angels in disguise, the legal process of eviction, my veteran’s status and my gracious landlord.  Everyone isn’t as lucky as I have been.  That’s why I give food and clothing to the homeless whenever I can.  Why should you give?  Just because someone is homeless doesn’t mean they deserve to be treated with less respect than a sewer rat.  Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs tells us that our basic needs of survival are air, food, drink warmth, shelter, sex etc.  They deserve to have their needs met just like you do.  Simply put–do something.  The dollar menu is a wonderful thing as well as those old jeans you’re about to throw away.*******

WORD OF THE DAY

NEONATE

(noun)
[NEE-ah-nayt’]

1. a baby from birth to four weeks: “Jaime was fearless about taking her her tiny neonate on an international trip.”


Origin:
Approximately 1932; ‘neo-‘: new + Latin ‘natus’: born.

THE FACE OF PREMATURITY  *******Some of the videos I watched to find this one made me cry.  I was induced 2 weeks early with my second son.  It was a horrible experience, but nothing in comparison to delivering months early and not being able to take your child home right away or not at all.  This is why organizations such as March of Dimes http://www.marchofdimes.com, http://www.marchforbabies.org exist.  Donate or walk if you can to help save a baby.*******

