Motivational Quote/Word/Videos of the Day-19 Aug 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“When you face your fear, most of the time you will discover that it was not such a really big threat after all.  We all need some form of deeply rooted form of powerful motivation – it empowers us to overcome obstacles so we can live our dreams.”  -Les Brown, Speaker and Author

SARAH MCLACHLAN-FEAR  *******This is one of Sarah’s many beautiful songs.  As beautiful as it sounds, it addresses an ugly topic – fear.  Many of us are crippled by it.  I, too, am one of fears victims.  You can choose to act out of fear or love in any given situation.  Ultimately, you’re choice is THE deciding factor of the outcome.  Have you noticed that while in a relationship, if you choose to act and react towards your beloved out of fear, it falls apart?  I’m sure most of us have experienced a romance turning sour because of jealousy and past hang ups.  Merely choosing to look upon the relationship you are in as a new beginning and not letting the past taint it because you’ve learned from it, will allow your new beginning to turn into happily ever after.  You can buy programs such as “Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus” http://home.marsvenus.com/, “Light His/Her Fire” http://www.lightyourfire.com/ (love them both) or just Google relationship advice to help you keep from making the same common mistakes over and over again.  I wish you all the best in your current and/or future relationships!*******

WORD OF THE DAY

ASYLUM

(noun)
[ah-SIE-lahm]

1. a hospital for mentally incompetent or unbalanced person; mental hospital; psychiatric hospital

2. a shelter from danger or hardship; refuge; sanctuary: “I’ve cleared my bedroom of magazines, television and radio, to make it an asylum from the outside world.”

3. a place, such as a church, that once offered shelter to criminals and debtors


Origin:
Approximately 1430; from Latin, ‘asylum’: sanctuary; from Greek, ‘asylon’: refuge, neuter of ‘asylos’: inviolable (‘a-‘: without + ‘syle’: right of seizure).

SOUL ASYLUM-RUNAWAY TRAIN  *******This is such a great song.  I remember watching this video as a kid on MTV and thinking how sad it was that those children were missing.  I wonder if any of them were ever found.  According to statistics, “…between 1.3 and 2.8 million runaway and homeless youth live on the streets of America each year.  View more statistics at http://www.armenianteens.com/runaway-teens.php.  Last year, I found a young teenage boy rifling through the trash outside of my local CVS.  He was so filthy and was obviously so hungry that my first instinct was to cry, but it was chased away bit a tinge of anger.  How did he get into that situation?!  He was so dirty it looked like he had been outside for weeks!  I didn’t have much money, but I asked him if he wanted some pizza.  He was ecstatic about eating pizza (what kid doesn’t like pizza?), so I took him next door to Bambino’s and bought him the 2-slice + pop meal deal.  He thanked me profusely, but it was a no-brainer for me to do that.  Because he had a bike, I directed him to the Salvation Army (they’ve helped me before and I am indebted to them) just up the street and told him they would help.  I haven’t seen him since and I just hope he’s okay.*******


