Motivational Quote/Word/Videos of the Day-22 Aug 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“My mother taught me very early to believe I could achieve any accomplishment I wanted to.  The first was to walk without braces.”  -Wilma Rudolph

INSPIRATIONAL SPEECH BY DR. RANDY PAUSCH: THE LAST LECTURE. DR. PAUSCH PASSED AWAY ON JULY 25, 2008  *******This is the condensed version of Dr.Pausch’s Last Lecture given at Carnegie Mellon University for his appearance on Oprah.  These principles, gleaned through the eyes of a dying father, are immensely poignant.  Speeches like this normally just fuel my drive to live the best life possible, but this particular speech left me a bit misty eyed and made me reflect on the life I have lived, am currently living and intend to live.  I’ll watch the full speech today and post it once I’m done.*******

WORD OF THE DAY

EXIGENCY

(noun)
[EK-sah-jahn-see, ig-ZIJ-ahn-see]

1. the demands or requirements of a situation (usually plural); pressing needs; ‘unable to cope with the exigencies of political life’

2. a pressing or urgent situation; ‘the health-care exigency’: “We will need to wait until the conditions improve before we can begin to rectify the damage of the flood exigency.”


Origin:
Approximately 1581; from Late Latin, ‘exigentia’: urgency; from Latin, ‘exigentem’ (nominative ‘exigens’), from ‘exigere’: to demand.

SAUL WILLIAMS-LIST OF DEMANDS  *******Saul Williams is the man…he’s brilliant I tell ya!!!

VIDEO OF THE DAY

CHRIS BROWN-FOREVER  *******I need to be on the dancefloor!!!  Tomorrow my friends…tomorrow… 🙂

