Motivational Quote/Word/Song/Videos of the Day- 9 Sep 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishments.”  -Jim Rohn

380 PHILOSOPHY ON DISCIPLINE (PROMISE)  *******I’ve learned a very important lesson on what discipline really means.  I have had trouble with motivation, procrastination and discipline because I have never looked at those issues in the same light as I view them now.  After viewing this video, I’m positive the brunt of you will have the same talk with yourself about your level of discipline as I just did.  Cheers to you and your accomplishments!*******

WORD OF THE DAY

ABET

(transitive verb)
[ah-BET]

1. to assist or encourage, usually in some wrongdoing; ‘to abet an ill-doer’; ‘to abet one in his wicked courses’; ‘to abet vice’; ‘to abet an insurrection’: “If you continue to abet this behavior, things will not end well for either of you.”

2. (as in law) to contribute, as an assistant or instigator, to the commission of an offense.

noun forms: abetment, abettor, abetter


Origin:
Approximately 1374; from Old French, ‘abeter’: to bait, to harass with dogs, literally, to cause to bite (from ‘à’: to + ‘beter’: to bait).

In action:
“Skype’s potential as a money earner for eBay depends on the average computer user’s appetite for regulation – and the example of recent years augurs poorly. When Congress passed its first anti-spam bill, the well-funded right-wing think tanks chorused that it wouldn’t work. More red-tape, they snarled. These naysayers aren’t so sure now that spammers are being arrested, and those who abet them facing real jail time. Spam hasn’t gone away, and the internet still needs infrastructure-level fixes to combat the problem effectively, but it’s a measure of how the libertarian rhetoric of the 1990s has cooled.”

Andrew Orlowski. “Meg Whitman’s $2.6bn spam goof? Giving VoIP a bad name.” The Register [UK] (September 13, 2005).

RON HEAGY PROMO  *******Well I’ll be…!  What’s my excuse?  Well Ron, I can’t say I really have one.  Watching this video has made me want to shut my excuse trap forever!  He’s amazing and he knows it even though he has every reason to submit to living a subpar life.  I (for once!) have nothing left to say.  :)*******

SONG OF THE DAY

RIHANNA- DISTURBIA (ACOUSTIC)- ALEJANDRO MANZANO OF BOYCE AVENUE

