Motivational Quote/Word/Song/Videos of the Day- 30 Sep 2008


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

Superfluous wealth can buy superfluities only. Money is not required to buy one necessary of the soul.”

Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862). U.S. philosopher, author, naturalist. “Conclusion,” Walden (1854).

THE BEATLES- CAN’T BUY ME LOVE  ********This I know from the depths of my soul–it is love, not money that makes me whole.  Oh money can buy me many things; fancy cars diamond rings, a house on a hill, or a fur to chase chill, but what good is all of that if I have no one to love?   Sure, I’d have momentary bouts of happiness, but for me?  I’d choose love any day.*******

WORD OF THE DAY

SUPERFLUOUS

(adjective)
[soo-PUR-floo-ahs]

1. more than is needed, desired, or required: “Ryan is so introverted, that I feel superfluous whenever I spend time with him.”

adverb form: superfluously
noun form: superfluousness


Origin:
Approximately 1380; from Latin, ‘superfluus’: unnecessary, literally, overflowing, from ‘superfluere’: to overflow (‘super’: over + ‘fluere’: to flow).

In action:
“Is it not superfluous to write more than one novel if the writer has not become, say, a new man? Obviously, all the novels of an author not infrequently belong together and are to a certain degree only one novel.”

Friedrich Von Schlegel (1772-1829). German philosopher.

Superfluous wealth can buy superfluities only. Money is not required to buy one necessary of the soul.”

Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862). U.S. philosopher, author, naturalist. “Conclusion,” Walden (1854).

 

ANDREA BOCCELLI- BESAME MUCHO  *******When words become superfluous…besame…besame mucho.*******

SONG OF THE DAY

ANGUS & JULIA STONE- JUST A BOY  *******I like this song.  It’s so adorable when a woman can make a man feel like a boy in love and he admits to it.  It only makes us love you more fellas!*******

