Word of the Day – 31 Oct 2011- Chintzy


chintzy

 

PRONUNCIATION:
(CHINT-see) 

 

MEANING:
adjective:
1. Decorated with chintz.
2. Cheap; gaudy; inferior.
3. Stingy.

 

ETYMOLOGY:
From chintz, a printed cotton fabric imported from India, from Hindi chheent (spattering, stain). Earliest documented use: 1851.

 

USAGE:
“Mohammed Al Fayed may have turned the once chintzy department store into a successful luxury brand.”
Jan Moir; Sphinxes. A Diana Shrine. Piles of Tat; Daily Mail (London, UK); May 15, 2010.

“I wasn’t going to spend a nickel on anything else, so it treated me like any chintzy customer.”
Frank Gray; For $14.95, Get a Knife, Hard Time; The Journal Gazette (Fort Wayne, Indiana); Aug 19, 2010.

Explore “chintzy” in the Visual Thesaurus. 

A THOUGHT FOR TODAY:

It was my shame, and now it is my boast, That I have loved you rather more than most. -Hilaire Belloc, writer and poet (1870-1953) 

Wordsmith.org

