Motivational Quote/Word/Song/Videos of the Day- 17 Oct 2008 


MOTIVATIONAL QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Anger will never disapper so long as thoughts of resentment are cherished in the mind.  Anger will disappear just as soon as thoughts of resentment are forgotten.”                         -Siddhartha Buddha

FORGIVE AND FORGET  http://www.youtube.com/user/0rchid33  *******I know it’s hard to forgive and it’s even harder to forget, but holding on to resentment is toxic to your soul.  I know this to be true from my own experiences.  I thought just the fact I had decided to forgive a person for their ‘wrongdoing’ was good enough, but I held onto the resentment and thought about the event often and was truly saddened each time I recalled it.  Then I read some of Radical Forgiveness by Colin C. Tipping (I plan on buying this great book) http://www.amazon.com/Radical-Forgiveness-Making-Room-Miracle/dp/0970481411/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1224284823&sr=8-2 and was astounded at how my life was affected because of the resentment I was holding on to.  It did me no good to say I had forgiven when I refused to forget.  I’ve since let go of the resentment and I feel so free.  I live by the motto “everything happens for a reason” and I know exactly why I had to experience what I did.  I ended up finding myself and became a much stronger person due to that experience.  What grudge are you holding on to?  Do yourself a favor and let it go.  I know it isn’t easy, but you’ll love the peace you’ll feel once you do.*******

 

WORD OF THE DAY

HETERODOX

 

(adjective)
[HET-ahr-ah-doks’]

1. characterized by departure from accepted beliefs or standards; of or pertaining to creeds, beliefs, or teachings, especially religious ones, that are different from the norm (‘orthodox’), but not sufficiently different to be called heretical: “The Church of Alexandria in Egypt is considered heterodox, not heretical.”

 


Origin:
Approximately 1619; from Greek, ‘heterodoxos,’ from ‘heteros’: the other + ‘doxa’: opinion.

In action:
“When theology erodes and organization crumbles, when the institutional framework of religion begins to break up, the search for a direct experience which people can feel to be religious facilitates the rise of cults. A cult differs from a formal religion in many significant ways. It is in the nature of a cult to claim some esoteric knowledge which has been submerged (or repressed by orthodoxy) for a long time but has now suddenly been illuminated. There is often some heterodox figure, mocked or scorned by the orthodox, who presents these new teachings. There are communal rites which often permit or spur an individual to act out impulses that had hitherto been repressed. In the cult, one feels as though one were exploring novel or hitherto taboo modes of conduct. What defines a cult, therefore, is its implicit emphasis on magic rather than theology, on the personal tie to a guru or to the group, rather than to an institution or a creed.”
Daniel Bell (b. 1919). U.S. sociologist, educator. The Cultural Contradictions of Capitalism (1976).
 

 

 

 

MIND CONTROL CULTS  *******It’s amazing how many people get caught up in cults.  It’s also quite sad because they prey upon people searching for love and answers to life.  This video is a bit long, but it explains the mind control process very well.  It’s strange, but I noticed some similarites to the hiring process at sports marketing companies.  They almost had me, but my gut told me to run for the hills!*******

 

SONG OF THE DAY

BRITNEY SPEARS- WOMANIZER HQ OFFICIAL VIDEO- DIRECTOR’S CUT  *******Wow!  Britney’s back @#%!#es!!!  I love to see people rise after a hard fall.  I’m happy for her.  This is a hot song and a hot video (not for minors!).  Kudos Britney.  :)*******